Dear future self.

To the eighteen year old Me.

I don’t know as much as you. I am not as wise, as smart or as old. You probably remember me as a weirdo who doesn’t know that much about life. I have no idea who you are or where you are. Do you still live in my house? Do you have different hair? You might be living in Zimbabwe for all I know!

Okay. But as much as you probably have better things to do than listen me lecture you, I just want you to hear me out. I won’t be long.

Ever wondered about what life will be like when you’re thirty, fifty, ninety? That’s a stupid question because I know you have, well I have. But please don’t fall into the trap of waiting for your life to begin. The simple fact is, this very day, hour, minute; this very second is your life. This now is your life. Don’t spend your days waiting for something special to come. Now is the most special time of your life, enjoy it. Don’t get me wrong, being excited for a future event is not a crime. However, so much of our lives are spent waiting for the school bell to ring, for Friday, for the summer holidays. Let me make this clear: no amount of dreaming is ever going to make them come faster. And when they do come around, they aren’t going to be any better because of the amount of time you have spent fantasising over them. On average, 47% of our lives are spent in a ‘mind wandering’ state, rather than a mindful state. Of the 53% mindfulness, half of this is sleeping. Why not use your precious time to make now better? Trust me, there is nothing stopping you from making Monday the best day of the week.

It’s not much, but it can make a difference. Enjoy all your moments, for they will soon be memories. And often the smallest memories take up the most room in your heart.

Dear me.Take each day like a song on the radio. You don’t know what type of song is going to play, but there’s a possibility it could be the best song you’ve ever heard. There will be times when you will hate the song that plays, you might want to change the channel. I know that sometimes you want to play a song again, or fast forward to the next song that will play. However the past is gone, and the future is inaccessible. And if you spend your life waiting for the right song to play, you’ll find that you’re missing out on a lot of good music.

Leave a Reply

